Roman Blinds Part 1

Over the past couple of months, I decided to redo the curtains in the lounge room.  They were originally this awful khaki-brownish colour.  I’ve often wondered what on earth I was thinking when I first purchased them at Spotlight.  They do not match one thing in the lounge room AT ALL!

A few years ago, I went looking to make roman blinds and searched through tutorial after tutorial.  Although, I never could find one that I found was what I was looking for.

Finally, earlier this year, I found this wonderful tutorial from a lady called Jen Duncan who I believe resides somewhere overseas from Australia (The link to her blog is: http://jenduncan.typepad.com/whats_new/2008/11/roman-blind-tutorial-in-20-pictures-or-less.html  ) where Jen shows how to make a roman blind in 20 pictures or less.

Anyway to cut a long story short, this lady’s blog inspired me so much that I started out on my own mission to not only make a roman blind but make one in the most cost effective way possible without compromising the finished look.  I know after looking at some tutorials on the web, some blinds looked a little like they might fall apart if one pulled the drawcord.  This is why I found Jen’s tutorial the best, not to mention, her blinds look fabulous finished.

I followed the tutorial to a tee and added something a little extra as I was making my first roman blind for a sidelight window next to an entry door.  I chose a beige calico material as the colour goes with just about anything.

As the window is the height of the door, I felt that I’d add in every 30cm an 8cm diameter rod of wooden dowel to ensure the blind didn’t curl as it hung.  It worked a treat and holds the blind just right so no gaps for privacy etc.

As it’s dinnertime here, I’ll have to continue this at a later date.  Plus I’ll get my trusty camera out and take some pictures to show how it turned out.

5 Responses to “Roman Blinds Part 1”

  1. Hi Melissa, I enjoyed reading your blog and I am happy the blinds turned out great. I’m sure they help block the sun, too. Love you.

    • Hahaha I know right! The other curtains were awful :-S Might be better if I end up getting time to put pics up of them. *Looks sideways at Connor running around* Love you too!

  2. Love your blog. You have great home decorating and diy ideas. Thank you for sharing this post on roman blinds. Very helpful to me!

  3. Yum…..Peanut butter cookies are my favorite. I will try the receipe.

    \

Leave a Reply

