Have a look what I’ve been up to…….

I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time now.  I’ve decided to design, sketch and paint onto canvas, art for children’s rooms.  The last time I did any painting at all was when I was pregnant with my first child who has just turned 6 in October.  I’ve had friends comment on it over the years that have seen a giant teddy bear painting that I’d painted and said I simply must do more and sell them to people.   But art is a personal thing, and I’ve always felt that my art is for my family’s eyes only.  Although, I had another dear friend over recently who saw my art and said I’ve got to at least sell this art at markets or ebay or something!!

Of course, I still felt like my art was too personal a thing to share with others, but my dear friend explained that other people might find the art appealing for their children’s rooms.  I thought that might be nice!   But I said, I didn’t want to get into this art business where designs are mass produced of the same things over and over and over.  I wanted to hand paint my own little cartoonish designs that I’ve been doodling since I was a child.

To be able to have people actually like my art would be surprising but nice at the same time.  I think I’m scared of any sort of criticism, but aren’t we all?

Anyway, since I’m raving on and on about this, I’ll cut this story short…er.  My dear friend basically changed my mind and I’ve been painting canvasses left right and centre.  I’m hoping to get around 35 of them done before the New Year.  At least then, when I finally do get to the markets to see whether people like it or not, I’ll have a range of paintings and not just a few for show.

I wanted the paintings to be of the doodles I’ve been drawing since I was a child (as mentioned earlier) but with a cartoon type look to them.  All with primary colours mostly, but bright bright bright.  Got to be bright.  I’ve noticed so many children’s art nowdays is all pastels and dull looking colours.  Babies and Children LOVE bright colours!  What’s happened to that I wonder….  I’m sure there are some suppliers out there that provide these bright colours but there wasn’t any locally here that I could find.

So without further ado, here are the first set of paintings I’ve done so far.  One is of Ben 10 (for my 6 year old’s room) and the other is of Australian Channel ABC2 for kids Giggle and Hoot’s Hoot and Hootabelle sitting on a tree branch.  Both of these are not original pictures and are from pictures that my children chose from the web.  Obviously both are not for sale due to copyright laws and all of that, but I thought they might be good pictures for me to start on after a 6 year break from painting and drawing.

One Response to “Have a look what I’ve been up to…….”

  1. Hi…..just peeking in to see if you had any new posts. xoxo Mum

Leave a Reply

