Children’s Castle painting for Children’s Hospital

I just went for my annual checkup on my cardiomyopathy peri-partum last week at Monash Heart here in Melbourne.  Whilst there, I commented to my Cardiologist that I’ve begun doing art work for children and after taking a look at some quick pics on my phone (as you do, of course!) she said she would like to commission me to do a painting for the children’s section of Monash Heart.  

Of course I felt so excited about this, but, after getting home I thought about it some more.   After I had spoken to my Cardiologist, I was of the impression that they purchase the artwork to decorate the hospital Monash Heart section with donations given to Monash Heart itself. 

But, I decided that I would much prefer to donate a painting instead as my way of giving back to them for the wonderful care they have provided over the past 3 years.

I’m working on this particular painting of a castle with big sunflowers and of course “hearts” in a fairytale setting.  Here is what I have so far…. just have to add some hearts and some touch-ups here and there.  I will post another pic when it is finished. xoImage

 

10 Responses to “Children’s Castle painting for Children’s Hospital”

  1. Dear Melissa

    After speaking to Jason this evening and learning about your art donation, MonashHeart is really excited about your Castle painting for our Heart Art collection. We have a few paediatric rooms where we see/consult/perform tests on babies & children and your painting would REALLY cheer up not only our little patients but also staff & visitors!

    • Hello Anne,
      Thankyou so much for your kind words. I am excited that the little ones, staff and visitors will get to enjoy my art too! I will send you a photo of the completed painting of what I have retitled, Sleeping Beauty’s Castle (complete with climbing flowery vines and hearts) which should really inspire little one’s imaginations.
      Thankyou again for this opportunity to show my artwork and speak soon!
      Best regards,
      Melissa

  2. How is Connor adjusting to Kinder? I’m sure he loves it. Hugs to all. Miss you.

  3. Love the new painting…..can’t wait to see the finished work. It will bring a lot of joy to everyone at the Hospital!!

  4. Thank you so much for following my blog (WordThoughts). I, too, am an artist (mixed media) and am so pleased that you are donating your uplifting and heartfelt painting to the hospital. Just think how many people you will make smile every single day!

    • Thankyou!! You’re most welcome for the follow, I’m looking forward to it 🙂 Yes, I’m hoping it will make so many people, especially the children, smile when they see it. Thankyou so much for your kind words 🙂

  5. That’s so beautiful!!!! I love it.

Leave a Reply

