Chocolate Brownie Birthday Cake that my children made!

Well, it’s my Husband’s Birthday and I suggested to my 6 and 3 year olds that they could make a Birthday Cake for their Dad.  My kids loooove cooking and decorating so of course, they absolutely jumped at the chance.

Now, my Husband doesn’t eat any other chocolate normally, but oh dear, does he love his brownies.  He says his nose can track them a mile away.

So the kids and I devised a plan to make a chocolate brownie cake (just made out of pre-packaged brownie mixes with some added walnuts of course!) in a large rectangular baking tray.

We then cut it in half so we then had two smaller sized rectangles.

Chocolate Brownie Birthday Cake with whipped cream, chocolate ganache and colored sprinkles

Chocolate Brownie Birthday Cake with whipped cream, chocolate ganache and colored sprinkles

We’ve then taken 250 grams of milk chocolate, melted it and mixed it with 1/3 cup of thickened cream to make a nice simple chocolate ganache.  The kids then poured the ganache over the top of each cake and spread it around, then decorated with some Hundreds and Thousands Sprinkles for a bit of colour!

I’ve then taken the leftover cream and added some icing sugar and vanilla essence and whipped it until it was very very thick.  Then I’ve spread all of the whipped cream on top of one cake until it was completely covered and overflowing and sticking out the sides (of course, I had to put this cake into a ceramic baking dish as you could imagine or there’d be whipped cream EVERYWHERE!!)

Then we’ve put the top cake onto the whipped cream and voila!  The kids were so proud of their creation and I was so proud of them.  🙂

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm looks yummy.  Hope it tastes just as good.  I know one thing’s for sure, it’s gonna be a messy one to eat.

Leave a Reply

